38-519. Legislative ethics committees; membership; powers and duties; code of ethics

A. An ethics committee is established in the senate and an ethics committee is established in the house of representatives, each consisting of five members. The president of the senate and the speaker of the house of representatives shall appoint to the ethics committee of their respective house five members, not more than three of whom may be from the same political party.

B. Each ethics committee shall propose, and each house of the legislature shall adopt, not later than thirty days after the beginning of the first regular legislative session, a code of ethics and conflict of interest requirements as part of the rules of the respective house in the same manner as other rules are adopted.

C. On the request of a member of the legislature or on its own initiative, each ethics committee may issue advisory opinions interpreting the code of ethics, conflict of interest and financial disclosure requirements.

D. Each ethics committee shall investigate complaints and charges against members of its house and, if necessary, report the results of the investigation to its house with recommendations for further action.

E. A member is subject to punishment or expulsion as provided by article IV, part 2, section 11, Constitution of Arizona, for any violation of the code of ethics, conflict of interest or financial disclosure requirements.