top border
border border
Arizona State Legislature
Capitol Roof picture
Fifty-second Legislature - First Regular Session
  Steve Yarbrough

Steve Yarbrough
Majority Leader

District 17

1700 W. Washington
Room 212
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone Number: (602) 926-5863
Fax Number: (602) 417-3121

Personal Information:
Home City:Chandler
Member Since: 2002
Sen. Steven B. Yarbrough is the Senate Majority Leader for the 52nd Legislature. He has lived in Arizona since 1963. He graduated from Phoenix Union High School in 1965, earned his B.S. in Business Administration (finance) from ASU in 1968 with high distinction, and graduated magna cum laude with his Juris Doctor from the ASU College of Law in 1971. During 1970-71 he was a Rockefeller Foundation Graduate Fellow in University Administration.

From 1971-1975 he served as a director in the ASU Office of Student Affairs. Since 1975 he has practiced law in Tempe and Chandler. For many years he was a board certified specialist in family law.

Since 1998 he has been the Executive Director of the Arizona Christian School Tuition Organization, a 501 (c)(3) charitable organization that has provided scholarships to thousands of Arizona students to attend the school of their parent’s choice.

Sen. Yarbrough taught business law at Mesa Community College from 1975-1977. He was a co-founder and served on the school board for Valley Christian High School from 1981-2005.

Sen. Yarbrough has been married to his wife Linda since 1968. She taught high school choral music for thirty years. They have three adult sons, all married, seven grandsons, and one granddaughter. Two of their sons are East Valley police officers (a Chandler lieutenant and a Gilbert officer) and one is the Global Business Supply Chain Manager for Shell Oil and lives in London, England.

First elected to the House in 2002, Rep. Yarbrough was re-elected three times from former District 21. He was elected to the State Senate in 2010 and re-elected from District 17 (portions of Chandler and Gilbert and all of Sun Lakes) in 2012 and 2014.

Sen. Yarbrough previously served on the House Education, Appropriations and Judiciary Committees and on the Ethics Committee of which he was Chairman. He served eight years as a member of the House Ways and Means Committee including four years as Vice-Chairman and two years as Chairman. He also served two years as Vice-Chairman of the Rules Committee. Sen. Yarbrough was House Speaker Pro Tempore for the 49th Legislature during 2009-2010.

Sen. Yarbrough is Vice-Chairman of the Senate Rules Committee, the Finance Committee and the Commerce and Workforce Development Committee. He previously served on the Senate Judiciary Committee and as Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee for four years before becoming Majority Leader. He also serves on the Joint Legislative Budget Committee, the Joint Committee on Capital Review, and the Legislative Council. He continues as chairman of the Senate Ethics Committee.


Committee Assignments
Financial Institutions Vice-Chairman Click Here Click Here
Finance Vice-Chairman Click Here Click Here
Rules Vice-Chairman Click Here Click Here



Sponsored Bills
Bill NumberSort By Bill Number
Sponsor TypeSort By Sponsor Type
Short TitleSort By Short Title
Final Vote
HB2064 P graduation requirement; civics test
SB1029 P* graduation requirement; civics test.
SB1210 P statutory drafting and revision
SB1211 P reviser's technical corrections; 2015
SB1468 P international operations centers; incentives
SB1469 P general appropriations; 2015-2016.
SB1470 P capital outlay; 2015-2016.
SB1471 P revenue; budget reconciliation; 2015-2016.
SB1472 P budget procedures; 2015-2016.
SB1473 P government; budget reconciliation; 2015-2016.
SB1474 P environment; budget reconciliation; 2015-2016.
SB1475 P health; budget reconciliation; 2015-2016.
SB1476 P K-12 education; budget reconciliation; 2015-2016.
SB1477 P higher education; budget reconciliation; 2015-2016.
SB1478 P criminal justice; budget reconciliation; 2015-2016.
SB1479 P human services; budget reconciliation; 2015-2016.
SB1480 P agency consolidation; budget reconciliation; 2015-2016.
SCR1010 P Senator Chester Crandell; death resolution
SCR1018 P trust land management; budget reconciliation.
SCR1019 C commending Israel
SCR1020 P Mayor John Driggs; death resolution


P* = Prime Prime Sponsor, P = Prime Sponsor, C = Co-Sponsor