top border
border border
Arizona State Legislature
Capitol Roof picture
Forty-ninth Legislature - First Regular Session
  Carolyn S. Allen

Carolyn S. Allen

District 8

1700 W. Washington
Room 303
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone Number: (602) 926-4480
Fax Number: (602) 417-3155

Personal Information:

Home City: Scottsdale
Member Since:

Carolyn was elected Senator for District 8 in November, 2002.  Currently she chairs the Senate Healthcare and Medical Liability Reform Committee and is a member of the Commerce Committee and the Veterans and Military Affairs Committee.

Senator Allen lives in Scottsdale, Arizona with her husband, Jack.  Prior to being elected to the Senate, Carolyn Allen was elected State Representative for District 28 in November 1994 and served until December, 2002.  She was Majority Leader of the House of Representatives and a member of the Environment Committee and the Health Committee.

Before her election, Carolyn Allen was Development Director of the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation and the Scottsdale Cultural Council.  She also served as Executive Director of the Scottsdale Arts Center Association and President of the Board of Directors of the Scottsdale Arts Center Association.

Carolyn Allen has a distinguished record of community and political involvement, including:
  • Chair, Greater Southwest Chapter of the Arthritis Foundation
  • Recipient of the Scottsdale Foundation for the Handicapped 2004 Humanitarian Award
  • Named “Scottsdale Woman of the Year,” by the Women of Scottsdale, 2004
  • Named “Legislator of the Year,” State Senate,  by Arizona Chamber of Commerce, 2003
  • Recipient of Arizona Hospital and Healthcare Association’s 2003 Legislative Appreciation Award
  • Member, Arizona Commission on Medical Education and Research
  • Member, Governor’s Prisoner Re-entry Task Force
  • Member, Maricopa County Commission of Justice System Intervention for the Seriously Mentally Ill
  • Member, National Conference of State Legislators (NCSL) Executive Council
  • Member, Council of State Governments (CSG) Executive Board
  • Named “Legislator of the Year,” by Arizona Petroleum Marketers Association, 2003
  • Named “One of the Top 50 Community Leaders” for Scottsdale’s 50th Anniversary, 2003
  • Member, Arizona Governor’s Film and Television Advisory Board, 2002
  • Member, Commission on Women’s Health
  • Member, Advisory Taskforce on Improving Outcomes for Incarcerated Women
  • Received Scottsdale Hospitality Commission legislative award
  • Member, Scottsdale Chamber of Commerce Community and Legislative Development Committee
  • Member, WISH List
  • NCSL Effective Government Committee
  • Fountain Hills Republican Forum
  • Fountain Hills Republican Women’s Club
  • Advisory Council, McDowell Sonoran Land Trust
  • Member, Desert Foothills Land Trust
  • Member, McDowell Park Association
  • Advisory Board, Scottsdale Foundation for the Handicapped
  • Advisory Board, Scottsdale Leadership
  • Member, Scottsdale Forum
  • Board Member, Institute for Mental Health Research
  • Board Member, Healthy Arizona 2010
  • Board Member, Arizonans for Cultural Development
  • Member, Arizona State University Nursing Advisory Board
  • Member, World Affairs Council
  • Morrison Institute
  • Member, Arizona’s BioScience Roadmap Steering Committee
She has been active in Republican Party affairs serving as:
  • Senator Jon Kyl’s Re-election Committee
  • Precinct Committeeman
  • Founder of Las Rancheras Republican Women
  • Leadership Council, National Federation of Republican Women Board of Directors
  • Chairman, Arizona Federation of Republican Regents
  • Volunteer Chairman, Western Region Reagan-Bush Committee, 1984
  • Member, Reagan Inaugural Committee
  • Member, Republican National Policy Forum, National Resource/Energy Committee
Member, Arizona Republican Caucus


Committee Assignments
Commerce and Economic Development Member Click Here Click Here
Healthcare and Medical Liability Reform Chairman Click Here Click Here
Veterans and Military Affairs Member Click Here Click Here



Sponsored Bills
Bill NumberSort By Bill Number
Sponsor TypeSort By Sponsor Type
Short TitleSort By Short Title
Final Vote
HB2048 P local elections; signature requirements
HB2158 P adult immunization information system
HB2460 C mental health services; court costs
HB2524 P drug and alcohol treatment district
HB2606 C civil rights; discrimination; employment
HCM2004 P secret ballots; protecting fundamental right
HCR2022 P school district expenditures; authorization..
HCR2036 C supporting the citizens of Iran
SB1018 P* burden of proof; emergency treatment.
SB1097 P* emergency medical services; records; confidentiality
  (NOW: records; emergency medical services; confidentiality
SB1098 P* direct care workers
SB1099 P* uniform state laws commission
SB1100 P* biomedical research commission; continuation
SB1101 P* nursing administrators; assisted living managers
SB1102 P* ambulances; certificates of necessity
  (NOW: eligibility determinations; AHCCCS.
SB1103 P* partnership for nursing education
SB1104 P* AHCCCS; SCHIP; application process
  (NOW: assisted living managers; nursing administrators
See Vote
SB1105 P* nursing board; omnibus
SB1144 C incompetent persons; prosecuting agency; notification
SB1157 P department of environmental quality; continuation
SB1311 P end-of-life options; right to know
SB1417 P AHCCCS; payment system; reform
SB1457 P* technical correction; food stamps; misuse
SCR1028 C health care decisions week
SCR1045 P death resolution; Jake Flake


P* = Prime Prime Sponsor, P = Prime Sponsor, C = Co-Sponsor